This light was once located a half-mile offshore, warning ships away from dangerous shoals on the east side of the river. The light was operated until 1961 when illumination from the Tappan Zee Bridge rendered it obsolete. Currently, visitors can walk up to it, but can’t go in. Tours are on hold until further notice.
Nicknamed “the Maid of the Meadows,” this light near Esopus was completed in 1871 to warn mariners about the pesky mud flats nearby. In 2003, after 38 years of darkness, a new light was installed in the tower. Though tours of the interior are not currently being offered, the Hudson River Maritime Museum (HRMM) is offering a sail-by boat tour.
The hazards created by the Middle Ground Flats, a former sandbar opposite the city of Hudson, led to the erection of this lighthouse in 1872; it was shut down in the 1950s. Today, the trusty fortress once again serves as a reliable navigation tool for ships in the night, and is open for tours.
Built on a massive circular stone base, this lighthouse is over 150 years old. It got a major renovation after being placed on the National Register of Historic Places. Today, the lighthouse operates as a bed and breakfast, available to book from Thurs–Sun. For day visits, the lighthouse is accessible by kayak, boat, or nature trail.
This brick structure was completed in 1915 and marks the entrance to the Rondout Creek. Operated by the HRMM, the lighthouse contains period furnishings and exhibits. Visit the museum’s website for information about scheduled tours.
Commissioned in 1826, this octagonal lighthouse sits atop a high peninsula on the Stony Point Battlefield Historic Site. Although decommissioned in 1925, the light tower was automated by the Coast Guard in 1973 and serves as a navigational aid. Today, visit the site’s museum for an exhibit on its history, including a rare period Fresnel lens.